Love learning and enjoy playing

Christian Mollerus

The first day led us to the TK N. Pembina National Kindergarten that received consultancy advice, financial support and teacher training from UNICEF from 2013 to 2015. This has enabled the kindergarten to deliver holistic early childhood development (ECD) services including health, nutrition, stimulation and child protection. The Pembina National Kindergarten is a government-run “model-kindergarten”. Many local governments visit and copy the ideas they find here.

The kindergarten doesn’t lack trophies for great achievements. Picture by Christian Mollerus.

Both girls and boys (50/50) find a completely safe environment for three and a half hours a day, five days a week. Irrespective of their religion they are playing and acting in small classes of around 25 kids. On Monday, the week starts always with a flag ceremony; the other days are reserved for play and sports.

During our visit, the “day-opening-ceremony” took place. It was very active, fun and full of energetic exercises. 130 kids from the close surroundings of the kindergarten enjoy the chance to develop by playing – for free!. Picture by Christian Mollerus.

At the end, we had the opportunity to paint T-shirts with the kids. By Christian Mollerus.

We had lots of fun. Look at me 🙂 Picture by Steffen Gumpfer.

The teachers are really nice and friendly and the kindergarten is very clean and well-maintained. All of us said that we could imagine being one of the happy children here!

The kids may help themselves to food. This way they learn to share and control their own appetite. Picture by Christian Mollerus.

 

Christian Mollerus

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Christian Mollerus

I was born in Berlin 1966 and I’m living today near Hamburg together with my wife, my sons (11 and 13 years old) and our dog. I’ve been working for IKEA for 25 years, mostly in stores, even in Australia.

Since September 2016 I’ve been Sales Manager for IKEA Germany. In my free time I like to ride through the heathland south of Hamburg and I enjoy the peacefulness with my family outside the busy city. I like to travel and, due to my Australian experience, I go there every now and then. Meeting friends and having my family around me is very relaxing for me. Geboren 1966 in Berlin lebe ich nun in der Nähe von Hamburg mit meiner Frau und meinen beiden Söhnen (13 & 11) sowie unserem Labradormischling. Seit 25 Jahren arbeite ich bei IKEA, die meiste Zeit in Einrichtungshäusern und war mit IKEA auch mal in Australien.

Seit September 2016 bin ich Sales Manager in der Deutschlandzentrale. In meiner Freizeit fahre ich gerne mit meinem Mountainbike durch die Heide und genieße die Zeit mit meiner Familie abseits des Trubels der Stadt. Ich reise gern, nach meiner IKEA Zeit in Australien liebend gern immer wieder dorthin. Am besten entspanne ich mit meiner Familie und meinen Freunden.

More posts by Christian Mollerus

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *